What a terribly disappointing night for the Angels. Going into the third and final game of the series at home against the Red Sox, looking for the sweep, and they just brought on a huge letdown.
Taking an early 3-0 lead in the first, after two, and seeing Moseley look strong through 3 shutout innings, the Angels really looked poised to sweep the team with the best record in baseball. Moseley just let the wheels fall off in the 4th, and then the Angels bounced straight back with yet another big hit (a two-run double) from Chone Figgins. The man is just money in the fucking bank. He doesn't know how to not hit. It's as if Howie Kendrick is hitting vicariously through Figgins since he's stuck on the D.L. himself.
Scioscia, for reasons only he could possibly tell you, and that I'm sure you wouldn't agree with anyway, marches Moseley right back out, and he gives up a two-spot to put the Sox ahead.
After tying the game at 6, the Angels' big three in the bullpen begin their work. But Speier gives up a home run to Dustin Pedroia, and you could just feel the game slip away from there. Scot Shields was erratic as hell, the game went to 9-6, and with Okajima-Gagne-Papelbon coming on, it was all overwith.
But you want a real blame of the game? It's Orlando Cabrera all the way. One of the worst, most unclutch performances I have ever seen put up in a game. Nevermind Moseley's ugly 4 2/3IP, 6ER line. Look at this dousy: 0 for 5, 1K, 2 DPs, and 7 left on base. Horrible. The man should be shipped back to Boston immediately so the fans there can give him some adoring nickname and he can continue his cult status there despite not really doing anything for the team in his time there.
Speaking of annoying legacies. Fuck Kevin Youkilis. I've never seen a guy come across as such an arrogant piece of shit from such a short time watching someone. He just has the most absurd demeanor I've ever seen...for a guy two years in the league, he looks like he thinks every umpire owes him every close call. Why exactly is this guy already a legend in Red Sox lore? Can someone explain this shit to me? Talk about overhyped. Fuck'em and the ego he came riding in on.
I'll take two out of three from the Red Sox anyday of the week, but this was a sweep waiting to happen that slipped between the Angels' fingers.
Look out for the dominating headlines sure to break on ESPN.com as they talk up the 'Big Red Sox win', coupled with a Yankees loss today. Sure to be the top Sportscenter discussion point after fucking burying the Angels' back to back wins against that same Sox team the last two nights. Sports media is absurd...take it from a guy who suffers its horrible coverage every day of the week.
Oh, and that Kevin Kennedy guy? The one who has spent the last two nights of Angels' victories over the Sox talking about how lucky the Angels were to face the Sox's 3-4-5 in the rotation? Hey buddy, go look over the fucking Angels' rotation and tell me where Weaver-Saunders-Moseley rank in the picture. Pretty freakin' sure it's 3-4-5, also. Moseley and Saunders have about 20 combined career starts, and all you can do is be a petty Sox-apologist for their losses, while overlooking the EXACT same circumstances working against the Angels? Puh-lease. The Angels just took two of three from the Sox from the back end of their rotation, and damn near swept them.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment